Jim Mason, left, and Rob, from Arctic Water Works, prepare to deliver water to the cabin. The cabin has three 300-gallon tanks inside. Water costs 10 cents per gallon.

I received my first water delivery today.

I wasn’t sure how long to wait before I called for a delivery. I can’t draw the water down too far or I risk burning out the pump. And I don’t want to call too soon because there’s a minimum delivery of 800 gallons.

Jim Mason arrived at 9 a.m. to check out the set up of the storage tanks. (I chose Arctic Water Works because my neighbor, Martha, uses the same company.) He grumbled a bit about the difficulties of the system and all the ways the folks who installed it could have made it easier for the delivery people.

The system is not conducive to an auto-fill, Jim said. Each tank needs to be filled separately by hand from the top. The tanks equalize through a system of one-inch copper pipe at the bottom. Jim would have preferred a single connection at the top with larger pipe at the bottom for a faster fill with less chance of water spilling.

I mentioned I thought it was a finely made system and I could always call the previous suppliers and see how they handled the system. Jim agreed the craftsmanship of the system was excellent and it had a lot of positive features and he decided he could fine tune the ease of delivery over time.

The water level was good, Jim said. No risk to the pump and just about right for getting a complete fill. Jim climbed the ladder and manned the hose while Rob stayed outside and monitored the rate of flow, cutting the water on Jim’s command. It took hardly any time at all, probably 20 minutes from the time they drove the tanker to my doorstep till the time they wrote the bill. $76.50 for 765 gallons of water.

I have to be home to receive future deliveries, since they can’t auto-fill. No problem.

Now my task is to pay attention and determine my personal water consumption.

This will be fun!

