My beloved and faithful Mac G4 decided to quit me during this second embed in Afghanistan. I haven’t been able to look at images or post much on my blog.

I’ve got a loaner computer for a few hours so I decided to play catch up…even though what I really need is sleep.

In late December 2011, JR Ancheta and I accompanied members of Charlie Co. of the 1st Battalion, 5th Infantry Regiment on an air assault mission near Molla Dust near the village of Khenjakak in southern Kandahar Province. I did a few posts about the mission (which earned both praise and ire.)

I know I’m backwards blogging again…it’s going to be like that for a while while I try to write and post all I want to share.

I have learned that soldiers and their families love photos, so I’m posting these images for them. I also learned that soldiers can identify each other in the dark and from great distances….by their boots, their body language, the way a soldier smokes a cigarette. I don’t have all the soldiers in these images identified, though I know the soldiers in Charlie Co. can ID each other without difficulty. Shoot me a message or comment and I’ll add names where they’re missing. Thanks.

Spc. Jamie Sterna, left, and Sgt. Travis Nowling take a smoke break while medic Spc. Eric Gomez, right, tends to a cut on Nowling's nose durng a break on the first day of an air assault mission with Charlie Company of the 1st Battalion, 5th Infantry Regiment near Molla Dust in southern Kandahar Province. Copyright 2011 Cheryl Hatch

Pfc. (now Spc.) Mazzole Singeo uses his rifle scope to watch Afghan civilians from the rooftop of a compound Charlie Co. has cleared during an air assault mission near Molla Dust in southern Kandahar province. Below, other soldiers take a break and lighten the load of their packs. Copyright 2011 Cheryl Hatch

Spc. Jamie Sterna, center, and medic Spc. Eric Gomez, right, rest during the first day of an air assault mission with Charlie Company of the 1st Battalion, 5th Infantry Regiment near Molla Dust in southern Kandahar Province. Copyright 2011 Cheryl Hatch

A Charlie Company soldier bumps fists with an Afghan boy during a break in patrol on an air assault mission near Molla Dust in southern Kandahar Province. The soldiers are members of the 1st Battalion, 5th Infantry Regiment. Copyright 2011 Cheryl Hatch

Pfc. Zuber, left, drinks tea offered by Afghan civilians during a break in patrol on an air assault mission with Charlie Company of the 1st Battalion, 5th Infantry Regiment near Molla Dust in southern Kandahar Province. Copyright 2011 Cheryl Hatch

Spc. Jamie Sterna poses for a photo with an Afghan boy during a break in patrol during an air assault mission with Charlie Company of the 1st Battalion, 5th Infantry Regiment near Molla Dust in southern Kandahar Province. Sterna is a member of the Female Engagement Team, women soldiers who are attached to the infantry to engage with the Afghan women and children. Copyright 2011 Cheryl Hatch

Spc. Malecia James poses for a photo during a break in a patrol on the second day of an air assault mission with Charlie Company of the 1st Battalion, 5th Infantry Regiment near Molla Dust in southern Kandahar Province. James is a member of the Female Engagement Team. Copyright 2011 Cheryl Hatch

Spc. Malecia James gives candy to Afghan children during a break in patrol during and an air assault mission with Charlie Company of the 1st Battalion, 5th Infantry Regiment near Molla Dust in southern Kandahar Province. Copyright 2011 Cheryl Hatch

