Note: I have packed many of my notebooks. I didn’t have access to the names of all the soldiers (or their ranks) whose photos I’ll share here, so I worked from memory. If you can identify a soldier, please let me know and I’ll update the caption info. And yes, there’s a preponderance of photos of C Co soldiers. And, yes, I have photos of the fabulous women of the Female Engagement Team working out; however, I will not post them until after my photo essay for the Christian Science Monitor has published.

When I arrive in a new place, I like to explore.

When JR and I arrived in Masum Ghar, we walked to the top of the hill to get a perspective on the base and the surrounding area. (I also think Maj. Mattox was conducting a secret fitness test.)

I also like to walk in the middle of the night and the early hours before most people are up and moving. At 4 a.m. in Masum Ghar, I saw a light in a tent and I decided to take a peek. The weight room. Inside, two solid men working out. At 4 a.m.