Last year I did a story on military moms for Mother’s Day for KUAC public radio in Fairbanks, Alaska.

I interviewed my mother and wives and soldiers of the 1/25th Stryker Brigade Combat Team at Fort Wainwright.

My mother raised four children, often alone, weathering my father’s many absences, including two tours in Vietnam. It’s remarkable how similar her comments and experiences are to the mothers of a new generation of Army wives and soldiers.

The “Arctic Wolves” soldiers returned last month from their year-long deployment in Afghanistan.

The story remains timely so I decided to share it today, Mother’s Day 2012.

Click on this link then press the arrow on the play bar to hear the piece.

http://www.publicbroadcasting.net/kuac/news.newsmain/article/1/0/1800777/KUAC.Local.News/

