Tia Sunshine Dye started a blog, Military Wife Theology 101, and she declared that she would write and post every single day in October. Tia is the wife of Maj. Jason Dye, with the the 1/25th Stryker Brigade Combat Team, 1-5 Infantry Battalion, stationed at Fort Wainwright, Alaska.

She started reading my blog when I was embedded with the 1-5 in southern Kandahar province in December 2011 and February/March 2012. She was always gracious with feedback and comments. On cold winter nights in the dark mud hut where I wrote and filed my stories and blogs, her words and those of others who wrote and thanked me for my posts encouraged me to continue.

I decided to support Tia in her commitment to write daily for 31 days. I committed to do the same. It sounds easy. In reality and in practice, I know it’s not as easy as it seems. For example, it’s almost 2100 now. I’ve had a full day of work and it’s not even a teaching day for me. I still have a stack of papers to grade. If I hadn’t made a commitment to Tia, I would have easily skipped my writing and gone straight to reading my students’ writing.

This past weekend I made a list with two columns. One column I titled “Things to Do for Me” and the other I titled “Things to Do for Others.” On my list, there were three items. Those same three items have been on my list for a few weeks. On my others list, there were 20 items. I made good progress on the tasks I needed to do for my work and no progress whatsoever on the items that would nourish and serve me. I even missed on opportunity to apply for a job that interested me.

I’m hoping by honoring this commitment to support Tia in her writing, I will support my own writing.

And, in turn, I will support and honor myself.

