I told a fellow blogger that I’d support her commitment to write 31 blog posts in 31 days. Tia Sunshine Dye is the wife of a soldier with the 1-5 Infantry of the 1/25th Stryker Brigade Combat Team based in Fort Wainwright, Alaska. She’s a mom, a military wife and a writer. Here’s a link to her blog.

Writers often work in solitude and sometimes wrestle words to get them on a page….or into a blog post. I offered to match Tia’s efforts as a sign of support and solidarity–and as a way to spark my own writing.

Today is October 9 and I’ve posted six entries on my blog to date. I had originally intended to write a post a day. Clearly, I missed that mark. Now I intend to honor the 31 posts in 31 days.

I wanted to thank those of you who are reading, commenting and encouraging me. I appreciate it.

As a photojournalist and a fan, I’ve seen plenty of batters knock home runs when they’re behind in the count. I’ve seen tennis players and golfers rally to take championships. As a rower, I’ve been in an eight that came from behind more than once to win a race.

I’m behind in the count.

And I’m not counting myself out.

